Book list for 2012

As usual, my Christmas list this year was three parts books, one part miscellaneous. Though surprisingly, I had more misc-shaped presents than normal, which is probably a good thing as my shelves are still bursting with books unread. And so I begin my own 2012 challenge – to finish all the books I currently own before purchasing any more. This, I fear, may be tricky as my Amazon wishlist is 80 items and always growing.

This post is less of an article, more of a proposition. I shall write out a list of the books I need to read and will perhaps write a short reflection on them as they are completed. We shall see how long this endeavour takes.

However, here is the list:
Into the Wild – Jon Krakauer
The Botticelli Secret – Marina Fiorato
A Streetcar Named Desire – Tennessee Williams
Making History – Stephen Fry
Moby Dick – Herman Melville
Nancy Wake – Russel Braddon
Kidnapped – Robert Louis Stevenson
John Keats; The Living Year – Robert Gittings
Tess of the D’Urbervilles – Thomas Hardy
The Return of the Native – Thomas Hardy
The Professor – Charlotte Bronte
Great Expectations – Charles Dickens

As well as these, I have collections of works by the Brontes, Longfellow, Lawrence, and numerous Shakespeares I’m ashamed to say still remain unopened.

Let the reading commence.

One thought on “Book list for 2012

Leave a Reply

