Climbing Mountains

I don’t usually like self-promotion on blogs, especially when their focus is writing, articles, and general-interest pieces – readers don’t need to know about the author’s lives. Tonight however, I am making an exception, for an exceptional cause.

In June 2013, I have the opportunity to trek up Mount Kilimanjaro. Standing at over 5,800m, it is Africa’s highest mountain, and the highest free-standing mountain in the world. Making your way through five ecosystems including rainforest in order to reach the summit is no mean feat, requiring physical and mental endurance, the ability to acclimatize to altitude, and the determination to keep on going.

Why am I doing this? Along with the University of Surrey RAG, I’m supporting Practical Action. They are a charity who use technology to help impoverished communities in Africa, Asia, and Latin America better their lives – whether it’s increasing crop harvests, building clean water wells and pumps, or finding sources of renewable energy, the work of Practical Action saves and betters thousands of lives.

In order to go on the trip, I must raise £2,650. This is just as much a challenge as the climb itself.

I know many of my readers do not know me personally, and there is little reason for you to take note of this post. If, however, you see this as a worthy cause and would like to donate, please head to www.justgiving.com/tiffany-conquers-kilimanjaro.

Every penny really does count towards that final goal, and I’m very grateful for all the support I’m already receiving. If you have any further questions, please don’t hesitate to get in touch on my Contact page.

Thank you.

Leave a Reply

